buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Hospital, Squares and Moses
01.05.06, 12:10 pm

After the huge 24 fest (we�re on Friday evening here), which was indeed very good and full of deaths of our favourite cast members, we decided to go off to the pub after tea to cheer ourselves up. It turned into a total girl-fest, with us sitting around deciding whom out of all our male Uni friends we�d prefer to kiss, and how Guy�s probably the prettiest, but so smug and obnoxious that you could never get past the urge to headbutt him (man, I hope Hannah never finds this journal and reads that). I was about to write something like, �We clearly all need some boy action�, but� yeah. After we did our pub thing we then realised we were hungry, and so Em drove us down to the McDonalds near Hillsborough and we bought chicken burgers. They were good. Becky asked me if I get road rage, because apparently whenever I sit in the passenger seat of a car I have a habit of calling other drivers and random pedestrians �nobhead� a lot.

Saturday was spent feeling increasingly more ill, with lots of dizziness and my arm going through cycles of numbness/pins and needles and my legs spasming randomly. Doctor Who rocked however.

So Sunday morning, whilst I was lolling around in bed still feeling exhausted, Becky and Mel crashed into my room as part of some kind of intervention, and demanded that I let them take me to Northern General A & E and get checked over. Apparently everyone had also rang their parents too, who had told them to take me to hospital also. They let me get up and have a shower, and then I took a cup of tea into Becky�s room and they harassed me again for a good twenty minutes. Eventually I said yes, mainly because I�d noticed in the shower that I had a weird tremor going on, and the night before had noticed that I found it hard to focus on things, but also because Em had apparently told them that if I refused to go then to ignore me and ring for an emergency doctor instead.

Cue the three of us sitting in a taxi on the way to the hospital, with Roxette � Must Have Been Love playing on the radio in the background. We got to A&E, I answered a load of questions and the triage nurse shoved a temperature gun in my ear (it was high, apparently), and then we waited for about an hour and a half on the green chairs, choosing to kill some of the time by playing Squares � that game where you have a load of dots and have to draw lines to make squares � and Becky showed just how very competitive she is about everything.

Becky: I�ve been planning my moves from the start, there�s huge skill behind this game.
Me: Becky, you�re so full of crap sometimes.
Becky: Yeah, just �cause you�re losing.
Me: Fine, you win the squares game, go you.
Becky: Play me at noughts and crosses, I�m unbeatable!
Me: Mmm. Pencil me in.

Anyway, I was eventually seen by some lovely doctor called Sarah, who got me to wear one of those hideous floral gowns and proceeded to do all of the neurological tests that I let Em practise on me when she was revising for her practical exams before Christmas. I completely failed all of the balance ones� she pushed me ever so slightly forwards and I nearly fell over. In a nutshell however, my nerves all seem to be okay, and despite the crazy tremor and my total lack of balance and coordination it�s all probably down to some killer virus. They also rang and got my bloods back (all clear, so I don�t have anaemia or anything). The one thing she did say was that the tremor may be due to calcium imbalance, but for the time being to just ride with it, and if it doesn�t get better after a week then to go back to my GP. So yeah, the kids are all relieved that I�m okay because they were all secretly worrying that I had MS.

The only thing that�s worrying me is that the crazy fatigue is stopping me from getting much work done, and my exams are fast approaching. I think it�s just a case of gritting my teeth and getting on with it though. This has just occurred to me: to the casual observer, it probably seems strange that I have an anxiety-gig to do with something that isn�t even wrong with me, and then when something else is actually wrong with me, everyone else is more concerned than I am. Welcome to the huge mystery that is the anxiety-gig, and consequently the huge mystery that is my brain.

Came home after the hospital fun, where Michelle proceeded to tell us many �fascinating� facts about Martin Luther King�s death.

Michelle: He had a load of divorces, but he�s still like a modern day Moses.
Me: Yeah, I bet Moses had about seventeen wives anyway.
Vicky: Probably legitimately too.
Me: Although, Moses was actually a bit nasty. He didn�t let any of the people into the Promised Land.
Mel: Really?
Me: Yeah, �cause he came down the mountain and they were all worshipping that fake god, and he was all �yeah, smackdown�.
Michelle: I�m pretty sure he didn�t actually say, �yeah smackdown�, I don�t think prophets were aware of the word �smackdown� then.
Me: Well, either way he wouldn�t let them into the Promised Land, only their children, and they had to hang out in the desert till they died.

My Bible knowledge totally rocks. That�s what comes of having a granddad who was a vicar, and who sent me a Bible every year for my birthday until his death when I was� twelve, I think. I should go on Mastermind or something. Right, I�d better leave this entry here, because despite having more no doubt fascinating stories to tell my word count�s approaching the stupid mark.

last - next