buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

The birthday entry (bit belated)
28.03.07, 10:45 pm

So yes, it was my birthday on Monday. I turned 22, which I�ve just about got my head around. The day was the usual mixture of ups and downs that birthdays are always made up of, and I�ll shall go into the details of those now. I know � my entries are so very exciting and life-altering.

The day started at the insane hour of seven o�clock, due to me being at James�s. I opened my presents from him, which were pretty bloody good actually (and I got five of them. FIVE! Knew there was a reason for this relationship malarkey, bar having someone to drag along to awkward social occasions so you don�t end up on your own in the corner), and then trudged back to my flat as he had to go to work. There I opened my presents that had come in the post, and then spent the rest of the morning drinking coffee in Starbucks and reading the paper.

Met the boy for lunch � we ended up buying M&S food and sitting in the Peace Gardens in the sunshine. After James had gone back to work I attempted to go shopping, but suddenly got very tired and had to abandon the idea. Got the bus back, got all upset walking home from the bus stop and had to cry in the flat for five minutes. The reason for this I can�t really say here, but it appears to be rapidly becoming the norm.

Anyway, later on I went to see my friend Yvonne, who lives in one of the flats, and finally James came over (with flowers � he�s seriously very very cute) and we cooked the very unadventurous tea of chicken fajitas. He was all ill in a snuffley gross way, I�d had a bitch of a sinus headache on-off all day, and by half nine we were both pretty much asleep. Finally went to bed at half ten. And that was my 22nd birthday.

In other, non-birthday news, well work�s going pretty damn well at the moment. Had a genuine coma-inducing afternoon last Thursday, where everyone had to do a short PowerPoint presentation on their current work. I was actually quite nervous, but there�s no other way of saying it � mine totally rocked. For some reason Guter � mad post-doc from Romania who always wears a yellow jumper � was allowed to get away with a totally sub-standard talk, consisting of no PowerPoint, a few scribbled blobs on a blank flip-chart and some vague talk of complex molecules. Humph.

But yes, work�s very good. We�ve currently got some SScs (second year medics) working in the lab on a research project, so I get to boss them around and look important. Tomorrow I have the Musculoskeletal Research Day, which is a whole day of seminars. I�m literally going to die.

Lisa is buggering off to Linda�s for two weeks tomorrow, so I shall be living solo and generally climbing the walls. Therefore if anyone would like a free mini-break to Sheffield please don�t hesitate to contact me.

last - next