buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Domestos dialysis
03.04.07, 9:56 am

I seem to have lost what little skill I had for writing, and motivation to write at all is also fading fast. Put another way, I�m thinking about shutting up shop. However, we�re not quite there yet, so for now we�ll just continue on.

The weekend seemed to last an eternity, for both good and bad reasons. Friday night me and James went to see Days of Glory � a film that we didn�t realise was subtitled until it actually started. Despite being very good it was incredibly depressing, and we both came out looking a bit shell-shocked. Also, I consumed just three Minstrels from the ginormous pot that we bought, due to the skewed logic of �they were on [his] side�.

Saturday morning I had a two-hour Tai Chi session in the car park of Chesterfield College. We definitely all looked completely insane, and countless passers-by walked into parked cars from staring at us. It was too much for me though, but I didn�t realise that I�d exhausted myself until it was too late. Dawn and me then went to have some lunch, and I had to then come back to Shef to meet James and some of his friends on Division St. All went pretty well.

Saturday night, despite me feeling so very tired, we went to James�s korfball party. You know how by the end of a party there�s always a girl crying? Well, for the first time ever that was me. Technically it was in the middle somewhere, and thankfully no one saw me but James, but still. Again, I can�t really go into the reasons for this, but it�s just another step towards my apparent emotional catatonia. Anyway, James took me home and sat me by the fire with a cup of tea and made me tell him what was wrong. It was hard work.

Sunday was a much more successful day all round, with us spending the morning reading the papers in bed, before going off to meet YET MORE of James�s friends for lunch. Here I was able to experience the most insane conversation of my entire life, between myself and James�s friend Paul�s housemate, while the former two were at the bar ordering food:

Matt: So what do you do?
Me: Oh, I work up at the Hallamshire. I�m a research tech.
Matt: So you�re like a doctor?
Me: Erm no, not really. I work on cancer projects.
Matt: Ah, so after the cure?
Me: Yep, living the dream.
Matt: I�ve got this theory about cancer.
Me (wary): Yeah?
Matt (deadly serious): Why don�t you just like bleach everyone�s blood? Like put actual bleach in their blood.
Me:
Matt: �Cause that�d then like get in everywhere and kill all the bad stuff, yeah?
Me: Erm�
Matt: Although I guess then it�d probably kill other stuff too, and make your blood not work so well.
Me: Yeah� yeah probably.

Jesus Christ. This guy was a geography teacher, and thinks you can cure cancer by a nice Domestos dialysis. I was dying to burst out laughing but thought it�d be a bit rude seeing as I�d just met him. Rest of Sunday was spent wandering around the Botanical Gardens eating ice cream, before coming home and creating the most amazing roast dinner ever. I do love that boy.

Currently ill with yet another cold, although this appears to be the more traditional form as opposed to sinus hell. Off to Dawn�s tonight to watch some League of Gentlemen, and then tomorrow that Zoe girl is coming down, demanding that I entertain her. And then finally, I�m off to bonny Scotland Thursday night to meet the entire boy clan. Bit nervous. Damn, I�ve got to cut this short as I�m meant to be at work soon and I haven�t dried my hair yet. I�ll try and squeeze in an entry on Thursday before I start the 90-hour drive.

last - next