buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

O flower of Scotland...
10.04.07, 4:30 pm

So, both Mini Boss and Indie Chick aren�t in today, for varying reasons, and because I am forever a slacker in my heart, I�m writing this entry in the lab instead of doing important cancer stuff. One day I�ll become a responsible adult, but for now let�s roll on with recent shenanigans.

The drive up to Dumfries was a long one, and that was with a wee doze. Finally got there, and discovered that James�s house is a MANSION. Seriously, it had its own name and there was an acre of garden. Met James�s sister and had some tea, before being taken on a tour � I said �wow� quite a few times and felt a little intimidated. His parents then arrived back, and I met his dad. And then we sat around having a lovely intense chat in the front room, before I was allowed to escape to bed. I had to sleep in the guest bedroom. Which was about the size of my entire flat.

Saturday morning I went into Dumfries with James and his sister to sample the wonders of the town, and also to buy a present for the hideous upcoming wedding that I�ve said I�ll go to. More on that awfulness later. Came home and met James�s uncle and aunt, who happen to be two of the most boring people in existence, so we quickly escaped again and went for a walk by the river and skimmed some stones. The afternoon was spent at some old Scottish castle, where I was given a history lesson, before coming home, having some tea and watching The Rock.

Saturday morning was spent at the beach with the whole family � it was actually both sunny and warm in Dumfries, which mightily impressed me. Met two thousand more relatives who happen to live there, and completely exhausted myself hiking up and down the coast. Finally Sunday was spent wandering around hilly Scottish countryside taking pictures of baby lambs, before partaking in a huge Easter Day meal. We drove back Monday afternoon, both feeling totally grumpy because we had work the next day.

So yes, that was the (very briefly described) Dumfries experience. I actually had a really nice time and I think his family liked me. Next weekend I�m up in Manchester to see my sister, and I�m going to drag the boy along for at least part of it. We�re fast approaching four months of relationshipness and everything�s going ridiculously well. I�d mush on but I don�t want to make you all feel ill.

Yes, this horrible wedding. James's cousin is getting married and I've been invited, partly only to make up numbers. There's going to be hundreds of relatives that I don't know and will have to meet, half of them are staying at James's parents house, and I have to learn both Ceilidh dancing and the full words to Auld Land Syne. I'm only going because I'll get to see the boy in a kilt, although I'm starting to think that it's not a fair enough trade-off. We tried a bit of Ceilidh dancing in the kitchen on Monday morning and I floundered about looking most ridiculous and unScottish.

It�s the new series of Peep Show on Friday, which makes me geekily excited. Before I can look forward to that though, I have to think of what to get my sister for her 25th birthday. And pay my council tax.

last - next