buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of hangovers and hangovers
23.12.08, 10:00 pm

Ugh, have spent a lot of the last two weeks either drunk or hungover. Work floor party started off with a theoretically dignified meal in the local Italian, and then dissolved in drunken debauchery as we moved into the pub down the road, with much silly hat and accessory wearing (Secret Santa presents). The evening culminated in a circular can-can by the bar (messy), and then everyone started randomly arm-wrestling. My hangover the next day was pretty dreadful... we all gathered in the hospital canteen and compared symptoms, and I spent half an hour eating one scone very slowly. Didn�t vomit though, so achievement. Uber boss then brought some guest speaker around the labs and I had to talk to her and pretend to be fine, though I�m pretty sure she�d noticed me sleeping through her seminar, in that very embarrassing nodding-head way.

Technicians� party started slowly, though with much drinking of horrible wine, and then I had the bright idea of knobbing off to the pub afterwards, as it seemed a bit rubbish going home at half four in the afternoon and sitting about in my room on my own feeling a bit pissed. Unfortunately everyone else came along and we didn�t leave until midnight, and my hangover the next day was, again, pretty special.

For insane reasons I spent the majority of Sunday in the pub with Indie, Julia and Rob, mostly because James had gone home for the holidays and I didn�t want to sit in the house on my tod. Very hungover on Monday, though unjustly, as I hadn�t had much. Managed to keep the hangover concealed from Mini Boss.

And then last night we all went out for a final Christmas drink, and it was meant to be just two drinks, and somehow turned into 90 million drinks and I didn�t get home until gone midnight YET AGAIN. Keep having increasingly horrifying flashbacks of conversation topics that somehow seemed perfectly acceptable at the time. Anyway, on the plus side I felt perfectly fine today, albeit very exhausted, so I�ve either built up a sterling resistance or my body�s just bored of making me feel very ill. Regardless, I am having a complete detox in January. After New Year, no alcohol until February.

Last day at work today � woo. My sister�s arriving later on tonight and staying the night, and then tomorrow we�re heading down to New Mills for two and a half days of family fun. And then on the 27th I�m off to Dumfries, for lots of forced conversation with James�s extended family. James�s granddad, who�s 90, has had to go into hospital this afternoon because he can�t breathe properly. I�m a little bit scared he�s going to die (I know, I�m totally morbid), which would completely crush James, but fingers crossed they can fix him.

God, I�m so knackered. I�m going to go have a bath. Happy Christmas everyone!

N.B Lots of hideous Facebook photos if anyone has any vague interest in my buffoonery.

last - next