buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of moving and settling
14.08.10, 6:47 pm

Christ on a bike, it actually happened. I actually managed to move all of my stuff into a boy's house, and we're now living together and not getting under each other's feet and tearing each other's throats out and all those other clich�s.

Moving house is uber lame though, just for the record. I kept finding books in the most ridiculous of places, and bits of paper with bank details on that I should've filed away years ago. I also kept finding Guilt Items... things that I wanted to throw away but felt bad about due to them being presents from loved ones or tokens of childhood. Prime example: knitted jumper from grandma, which resembles a pink woolly hairball and which I have never worn and never will. I couldn't throw it away; it made me feel too much of a git, so I kept it and have stuffed it into a cupboard. Sometimes, it's really hard being a grown-up.

So yeah, we went to the tip last weekend and said goodbye to my very old, very bulky TV, and also moved all of the boxes. This morning, I then went back and did the final clean. Hoovering behind my desk and under my bed was horrible, and I somehow still managed to come back home with another bin liner of stuff. Said the final goodbye to Sarah, which I was mildly apprehensive about. I mean, how much of a touching goodbye do you go for? A handshake? A hug? A declaration of sadness at our parting? In the end I went for a hug and a 'good luck', which seemed to go okay. To be honest, I doubt I'm going to miss my attic much. It was kind've dusty, kind've brown and kind've cold. It's also rubbish having to spend all of your free time in the one room.

Living with James is going well, so far. I unpacked the rest of my stuff this afternoon, and there's just about enough room for everything. I need to stop myself from doing all of the household stuff � cooking, cleaning, ironing. I know it's because I think that if I do all of this then it'll make him like the fact that I live here now. This is a wrong thought, as everyone at work keeps telling me. Hopefully everything will shift into place soon.

Life's tootling along, bar all of this. Work's crazily busy, despite it being theoretically the quiet season. My PS3 is still AMAZING. My dad's okay � we went up to see him last weekend for his birthday, and it was actually quite fun. Plus, I drove in the dark for the first time ever, which was mildly terrifying but not as bad as I thought it would be. The whole email crap from the last entry has been kind've swept under the carpet... to be honest, I wasn't expecting anything ground breaking to occur from it. I think my dad's too old to change now.

Had better go help James with the chicken that we're roasting for tonight. I still haven't quite gotten my head around the fact that we're living together � it's all a little surreal. And bloody fantastic, to be honest.

last - next