buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of teeth and allotments
05.09.10, 11:50 am

The tooth that I had the huge filling put in last year has cracked, and it can't be saved. I have to go to the dentist for a root filling, which will take two hours to complete and cost me �500. Soon, my upper right molar will become the most expensive thing that I own, bar rent. I cannot stress how much I hate that tooth right now � I have already spent over 200 quid on it, and now it's sapping a further 500 from my bank account. The torture session's booked for Tuesday morning... and I have nothing else to say. Except I HATE YOU, YOU STUPID SAD EXCUSE FOR A TOOTH.

Shocking week last week � doom-laden dentist trip on the Thursday, and on the Monday and Tuesday I was on a training course for a piece of volume-rendering software. 18 hours in front of a laptop is not conducive to a good time, even if there is a free lunch thrown in. I also went swimming on the Thursday night and nearly drowned after inhaling a load of water; interestingly, I decided that I definitely could not stop swimming as this would draw attention to my choking, and so decided to continue swimming whilst choking and gasping. My heart then decided that it'd had enough of this shit, and palpitated all the way home. My body's basically falling apart.

Went to MeadowHell yesterday and bought a dress for the two weddings that are coming up soon. It's red and lovely, but it has cost me �125. Where is all of this magic money coming from? James keeps offering to pay for the dress/tooth, and I then inevitably go off on my well-worn This Is Not The Fifties And I Am An Independent Woman spiel. I know he only means well... sometimes I think I'm too independent for my own good.

We were up at Dumfries last weekend and I drove on the motorway for the first time. God, that was pretty scary. You can't quite shake the thought of knowing that one lapse in concentration would result in a horrible mangled car crash. Dumfries in itself was great � usual routine of seeing family, walking in the countryside and then getting quite pissed in the evenings.

Oh, I'm getting put forward for an award at work, which was announced at my appraisal last month. It's for working well beyond my job spec or something, but there's almost no chance I'll get it as you're in competition with lots of other people. Still, it's definitely a Nice Thing. To be honest, the real nice thing is still having a job, given the sad state of the scientific research sector right now. Thanks a lot, coalition government.

My dad is currently obsessed with allotments, one of which he has recently acquired. Whenever I ring, I get a ten-minute update on its status, and he's always dead grumpy when it's rainy as it means he can't go there. I guess it's good that he's a got a hobby that isn't alcohol or weed. Amanda's still irritating and rude. Her children are still fucking up in various ways. I'd write about it but it's all really boring � the allotment and Amanda's children is all I hear about on the phone, and my dad is supremely uninterested in anything that I do.

Anyway, going to go and try on the very expensive dress and see if any of my shoes look good with it. Wish me luck for the dentist; the whole procedure sounds faintly horrific. They have to extract the nerve with this special tool and all sorts.

last - next