buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of Christmas and New Year
31.12.10, 5:24 pm

I'm not quite sure how, but I have won an award at work � it's called an Exceptional Contributions Award and I get �600 in next month's wages. Anyway, the important thing is that I have used some of the money to buy myself a wee Netbook (the boy has contributed to some of it as my main Christmas present), and went down to Carlisle to get it today. It's the most amazing thing ever - I'm completely in love with it and want to marry it a bit. My New Year's resolution is to now update more often, which should be a bit easier now that I don't have to troop off up to the chilly box room to write an entry each time. This journal has become very shoddy of late � I will endeavour to try harder. Obviously I have said this many times before, but still, here we go!

I'm currently in Dumfries having a lovely time with James's family. Christmas itself was okay � not massively fun and a bit on the tense side due to Amandroid being a rude control-freak and Spawn's odd friend suddenly spending Christmas with us for some reason or other, but it was okay. I adopted last year's tactic of Excessive Wine and managed to get the first drink in at midday, and consequently spent most of the day in a mellow haze. It was nice to see Dad, and brilliant to see my sister � she put it best when we dropped off Spawn's friend, Julie, en route to the train station: 'My God, Julie's a fun drain, isn't she? What a total Dementor. Even Dad perked up when she got out of the car.'

Dumfries is brilliant though � lots of time sitting in front of the open fire, reading and writing and chatting and drinking alcohol. The Sound of Music is currently on � not sure James's mum is appreciating me bursting in song whenever a song is hinted at. It's the boy's birthday tomorrow � a haggis may possibly be making an appearance for tea. Not sure what we're doing tonight for New Year's Eve � hopefully it'll involve lots of lovely whiskey.

Thankfully my period's turned up, which means that I should be able to have my horrible internal ultrasound scan on Thursday. My gynae pain has become my nothing-else-to-worry-about worry � getting it diagnosed can't come quickly enough, to be honest.

Anyway, the only thing left to say is HAPPY NEW YEAR to everyone who reads this dirge-fest. I hope you all have a wonderful 2011, and thankyou for continuing to check in here. Here's to more than one entry a month in the future!

last - next