buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Of New Year and quizzes
02.01.11, 5:06 pm

Yep, it's rubbishy Sentimental New Year Quiz time...

1. What did you do in 2010 that you�d never done before?
I went to the USA, which involved 4 terrifying long-distance flights. This is a big deal for me! I also drove on the motorway and didn't die. Did some sea kayaking and bear watching and lake canoeing. Oh, and lived with a boy on my own.
2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I know for a fact that I didn't make any last time because I am much too fickle for them.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
James's cousin, which probably doesn't really count, but her wee one is the cutest thing ever, and definitely made the hideous big family gathering more bearable.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, I have been blessed.
5. What countries did you visit?
BOOOORN IN THE USA, BOOORN IN THE USA! And also Scotland, which doesn't count now.
6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
More drive � I am too lazy for my own good.
7. What date from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
I guess 7th August, as that's when I moved in with James.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Being brave about having a root canal. Winning an award at work. Doing lots of flying. Not killing Amandroid.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Still haven't driven on my own yet.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
A sad tooth, which is still not mended yet. And a sad cervix, which is yet to be diagnosed.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
My Netbook, which is the most fantastic of things. Also, my PS3m which brings nothing but joy to my weekends.
12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
My friends, my sister and the boy, always. Also, my line manager, for being generally ace and very understanding,
13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Lisa has not had a good year, once again. Still Amandroid and, to some extent, Dad.
14. Where did most of your money go?
The dentist. Sad face. Also, the taxman, rent, savings and HMV.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The trip to Alaska, which was God-sent and a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
Fairytale of New York, for work memories that I won't bore you with. Dancing Queen by ABBA, which they played constantly on the local radio in Alaska.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? Happier.
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner, but I worry about my furry arteries now that I have fallen deeply in love with blue cheese.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer, but I have a dentist appointment next week and am due a crown.
18. What do you wish you�d done more of?
Reading, writing, and seeing friends.
19. What do you wish you�d done less of?
Worrying, procrastinating and washing-up.
20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Me and my sister have decided that next Christmas is not going to be a crap, unfun one, so we're going to have it at my house and not invite Amanda. Ha ha haa!
21. How will you be spending New Year?
I'll be wherever the boy will be.
22. Did you fall in love in 2010?
Still in.
23. How many one-night stands?
None.
24. What was your favourite TV programme?
Sherlock Holmes, Strictly Come Dancing (James is officially a fan now, as even watched it when I wasn't there one weekend), The Apprentice, Doctor Who, Garrow's Law.
25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?
No, hating's rubbish.
26. What was the best book you read?
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, A Room With A View by E. M. Forster, Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky and Diary Of A Nobody by George and Whedon Grossmith, which I've just re-read and is still one of my most favourite books ever.
27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Oh I don't know, maybe I Am Kloot.
28. What did you want and get?
A Netbook, a PS3 and renewal of my work contract.
29. What did you want and not get?
A working molar and a kitten.
30. What was your favourite film of this year?
I really liked Toy Story 3 and Inception.
31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was 25 and had a fantastic day, despite having to go to work, due to the boy, who bought me fantastic presents and then baked me a chocolate cake with candles that spelt out HAPPY BIRTHDAY. Unfortunately I drank a bit too much wine and was very hungover the next day when my friends arrived to see me. Actually thinking about it, the work part wasn't bad either as my friend Ju also baked me a cake with a picture of me on it wearing a lab coat.
32. What is one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Not having to spend so much time at the dentist and the doctors. Being able to stay in Alaska for longer.
33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
Same old scruffy no-effort.
34. What kept you sane?
Writing and playing my guitar. My wonderful friends and the boy. Work, as crappy as it sounds, because despite its stresses I still love it.
35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I've currently got a huge crush on Tim Minchin.
36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Not so much the General Election but the aftermath, i.e. horrible Tories and their crappy ideological cuts and the lying, treacherous Lib Dems.
37. Who did you miss?
The usual suspects.
38. Who was the best new person you met?
Marilyn and Ralph, the wonderful couple that we spent time in Alaska with.
39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
Root canals are horrible but bearable.
40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
'Hello again, hello,
Just called to let you know,
I think about you every night,
And I know it's late,
But I couldn't wait,
Hello'

Hello Again by Neil Diamond

last - next