buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Little too much champagne
01.01.06, 6:37 pm

Well, unfortunately I am welcoming the New Year in today with a hangover. The last time I did that was when I was 15, and had gone out on the town with Lindz and her family, before going on to their neighbour�s house party. Due to them all being Geordies I was required to do a load of traditional rituals on the stroke of 12, including carrying a piece of coal in through Linda and Len�s front door, before going on and carrying it through all their neighbours� front doors. And then Lindz and me danced down the street singing something loud and stupid. Anyway, I woke up with the worst hangover in the world, had to throw up almost immediately - on a side note, is there anything worse than having to be sick in someone else�s house? I decided to go home at that point and be miserable in my own house, had to walk due to there being no buses running (about a mile and a half) and ended up having to throw up in the gutter along the way. Sorry, some of my stories are really quite gross and unappealing.

Oh, that�s made me miss Lindz quite a lot. Anyway, back to this year. I spent the night with my dad, due to us being in Manchester on our tods, and toasted it in with a glass of champagne. And then I decided to carry on drinking the champagne; I think I had about 3/4 of the bottle. Once my dad went to bed I had my usual fantastic drunk idea of phoning my friends, because of course drunken phone conversations are the best idea ever. I also decided to welcome in the New Year by robbing one of my dad�s Cuban cigars, and Lise got to have a conversation consisting mostly of me saying, "Oh, it�s got a metal case and I can�t unscrew it with one hand... I�m gonna put you down a sec so talk loudly... okay, now I�ve got it... bugger you�ve got to cut the end off... no, wait, you don�t... oh yes, you do... no... yes, yes you do..." Bet she was glad she stuck around for that conversation.

Lisa, I think, was as drunk as I was, seeing as she told me that she loved me about three times; Mel just red buttoned my ass, which was probably wise, and Zoe�s voicemail got to hear me having a conversation with myself as to why I was ringing in the first place, seeing as I�d drunk way too much champagne, before saying happy new year about five times. Sometimes I should just go to bed and leave the phone well alone.

In other recent news, my sister�s now in Paris. I�m starting to miss her already. Nothing much else to say about that really.

My revision�s going okay, although I�m currently doing about motor neuroscience and that damn module contains way too many spinal pathways. I know, my degree is incredibly dull to anyone who�s not me or doesn�t do it (to quote Lisa: "Hol does the most boring degree in the world". Thanks for that, darlin�) but I feel the need to purge myself of my revision pain. Thankfully I have the best textbook in the universe - Neuroscience by Purves � to aid me, although my sister was all disappointed because it doesn�t contain any gross pictures of weird rare diseases like some of my others do, just endless black and pink drawings of brain sections and neuronal circuits. Okay, shutting up now!

The current question is whether to go to hypno on Wednesday or not. On the one hand I don�t want to risk all my progress and shunt the anxiety gig back to square 1, but on the other hand I don�t think I can handle another session. Without going into personal details, because I don�t really want to bring myself down, Hypno basically gets right in your space, finds one of your weak spots and then pokes around in there. All your inner neuroses get pulled out and held up to the light. It�s very intense and very uncomfortable and generally horrible. So yes, I�m not quite sure what to do yet. I have to nip back to Sheffield either way this week though, as there�s a load of journals that I need to print out, and I have to be on the University network to access them.

This is the current state of mine and Lise�s MSN conversation:
Me: yeah, but you know that I'll win
Lise: you really wont win this time....you never do
Me: I always win. I�m like a winning fiend
Lise: no way
Me: yes way
Lise: well yes you are a fiend
Me: ooh I like that, that sounds sexy

This is blatantly like the phone thing; I need to get up and leave the computer alone. Actually, it looks like I�m on cooking duty anyway because my dad�s currently asleep on the sofa. Obviously the delights of Annie weren�t enough to keep him conscious. I should go do some culinary masterpiece.

last - next