buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Birthdays, last days and church ways
7th September 2005, 12:25 am

I only just remembered it was my mum's birthday today about five minutes ago, when I went to enter the date into my DNA spreadsheet. I guess that makes me a bad person. Thinking about it, I also seem to remember writing something similar to this last year as well. I'm now experiencing the annual memory of my mum telling the rest of us not to give her her birthday presents until she got better, and I felt guilty for years because I never bought her anything and she never got better.

Sorry, I didn't mean this entry to turn quite so depressing so early.

I did my last sequencing experiment this morning in the lab, and am ashamed to admit that I felt the slightest bit sentimental in the end, as it means that I won't, for example, label any more epps with my blue marker pen that has a label with HOLLY written on it. Sad, I know. Actually no, it is vaguely sad, and I will miss coming into the lab every day and setting up the various experiments. And the fact that I still enjoy it must bode well for a possible future career.

Me and Emily hada surprisingly long conversation at 11 pm last night about religion, before I realised that I hadn't washed my hair that night and got all grumpy because it meant having to have a shower right that instant, and consequently not getting to sleep till gone twelve. Yes, I know I could have just had one the next morning, but I never really like doing that, because then I end up rushing the whole drying and straightening ritual, and my hair grows about three feet horizontally and looks shit. ANYWAY.

We started talking about religion because Becky, who's a serious Christian and is currently going out with James, who's seriously not one, has asked him to go on one of those really scary looking alpha courses, where you learn all about Christianity. She's also said that if he doesn't get anything out of it, then they can't be together. This seems incredibly harsh to me, and also really unfair to James, who's a lovely lad. Give him props for even going on the intense-o course in the first place; I don't think I would have done if I was him. It puts a tremendous amount of pressure on him though, and if I'm honest I really don't see him suddenly deciding to convert. And I don't see why it's so important for him to be a Christian, seeing as Becky's one already.

Em, who's a Catholic (hasn't been to church since the Pope died, and she only went then due to guilt from her dad), said that the only thing she'd be arsed about is that she'd want to get married in a church, not whether her bloke was uber religious or not. I don't know, maybe I just don't get the whole religious faith thing.

On a bit of an Ebay bender at the moment, ever since buying the Mega Drive. I bought an Aladdin poster off it yesterday, thus embracing my inner child. I really need to stop doing this though, as I'm going to have NO money this year, due to the LEA not giving me as much loan because it's my third year. Robbing bastards.

last - next