buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Crappy excuses
9th September 2005, 12:01 pm

Okay, so I'm vaguely sad today because it's my last day at work. I think it's hormones making things worse though, personally. I also think I'll probably be back here at some point next week, because I'm bound to forget something. But no, I'm still a little sad.

Just bought my last lunch from the fantastic canteen. Decided to celebrate this fact by buying a big cappuccino muffin (had the check the label just then to spell that right). It'll probably make me put on three stone; I don't even care.

Did a trial PCR this morning with Channa, to show him what to do. We'll be pouring a gel this afternoon, which is one of the most yawnworthy things in the world. And then we'll be running it, and seeing what kind of image we get at the end. And then I'll be going home. Home to my lovely room, which I shall have to clean tonight, but which contains my lovely bed and lovely TV, where I can lie and watch cricket all afternoon. Woo yeah.

Some of my friends suck ass at the moment. Paddy sucks the most ass, as he promised me last week that we'd meet up before he went away on holiday this week, and I've only just realised that we never did. I haven't seen him in about a month, which is ridiculous when he only lives about ten minutes away. I'm obviously not fun enough to warrant a meet-up. Most of my housemates suck ass too, as it's Vicky's 21st party on the 16th. Now, I can't go, because that's in the middle of my tri-annual visit to Notts, and I have a date with my grandmother. She'd kick my ass if I missed it, as it's been pre-planned for ages. Hell, I'm even missing Matt's housewarming party to go to it, which he is gutted about. ANYWAY. The rest of my housemates, with the exception of Hannah, who is in the USA, have all come up with shitty excuses for why they can't go, so it looks like none of our house will be there. Which is appalling, and is probably going to really upset Vicky. Here is a selection of the excuses:

Mel - "I'm probably coming down to Sheffield the next day." So? Knowing Mel, she'll have already started packing by now anyway, so I'm totally not buying that.

Dave - "I wasn't personally invited." Probably because Vicky expected us to invite you for her. Honestly, are we all five here?

Becky - "I can't afford it." Oh you blatantly can, seeing as your parents pay your rent and phonebill, you're currently working at the surgery and live about ten miles away from Vicky. You could probably buy yourself a pony right now if you wanted to.

GAH.

Speaking of the boy, he doesn't suspect in the slightest that I'm actually not going out with work tonight, and will instead be spending the night at home on my tod. Yes, I'm slightly concerned that I'm lying to him so early in the relationship, but it's the weeniest of all weeny white lies.

Man, I can't believe I'm not going to be working here anymore. This has definately been one of the best and most worthwhile things that I have ever done, ever. It's such a good feeling, knowing that I've already done a little bit towards the fight against motor neuron disease. It's nothing huge I know, but it's something. I really hope I can get a job in this kind of field once I graduate.

Eaten half of the huge muffin already.

2:15 pm
Computer Voice just completely eavesdropped on my conversation with Channa, and then banged on about turning off the power packs, because no one ever turns them off or something. Excuse me, Computer Voice? Do I go over to your bench and butt into your conversations? Didn't anyone ever tell you that sandals and socks should never be worn together? God I hate him.

last - next