buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

And you've been so busy lately that you haven't found the time
27.01.06, 12:15 pm

So, the complete bastard of an exam is done. Wednesday night saw me desperately trying to ram more facts about channels into my already overflowing brain, until I decided that I deserved a break and watched Desperate Housewives. Becky then came in, European Union notes in tow, looking depressed, saying that she couldn�t concentrate in her room. We proceeded to sit on my bed and revise during the ad breaks.

Me: *reads from notes* Nicotinic acetylcholine receptors are composed of two alphas, a beta, a delta and a gamma subunit in the NMJ. In the neonatal the gamma is originally an epsilon, but this is soon converted pre-birth. *pause* Well, isn�t that fascinating. Isn�t that the most boring fact that you�ve ever heard? Do you have anything from the EU that�s more boring than that? Anything at all?
Becky: No.
Me: Exactly, it�s the most boring fact there ever was. There is no fact more boring than that. This module is such a wank fest. Go get more chocolate from Mel.

Amy drove me, Paddy and B to Hillsborough, and we got there an hour early. I kid not. Paddy took the time to teach me about 2-P channels, and thank GOD he did because a question came up on them. The exam was actually okay � I was really quite concerned because it could have been so bloody awful, but it was actually alright. I think I�ve managed a high 2:2, or a low 2:1 if I�m lucky. It was absolutely freezing in there though; they had big gas heaters that I�m sure were slowly poisoning us all, and some nobbing invigilator kept standing by my desk. But no, exam was okay. Thank god.

Came back, did a dance and then went to the pub with some of the housekids � Mel, Becky, Hannah and Dave, if anyone�s taking a register. Hannah had a complete strop on, due to more �no one cares� shit. I could hear her moaning to Mel on the way up to the pub (she�d never moan to me or Becky because she knows we wouldn�t tolerate her bullshit), saying, �I�ve got so much work to do, I just want to have a break. And no one knocks on my door and checks to see how I�m doing; you all go see each other and no one comes to see me. Blah blah blah me me I�m so hard done to blah blah� Yeah, firstly you�ve been out most of this week doing fun things with Guy whilst we�ve stayed in our rooms revising solidly; you�ve done bugger all work for forever. Secondly, you�ve never come to see me, and if I knocked on your door you�d come to the door and not let me in, and we�d consequently have a conversation in your doorway. Thirdly, I�ve had four exams to your one and a bit of coursework. I�ve been revising since just after Christmas and haven�t had fun in a long, long time � I only get to see people at meal times and when I�m putting Mel�s drops in. Basically, sod off.

Anyway, she was completely miserable the whole time she was with us. She tried an �I�ve got an exam on Monday that I haven�t even done any revision for yet� whilst we were eating, which I just replied to with, �Yeah, you should really have done some revision for that by now.� She almost kicked off, which I was kind�ve hoping for so that I could give it to her straight. Maybe I was being a bit harsh, I don�t know, but the rest of us have hardly moaned about our revision and she�s had it so easy in comparison. Instead she went home (to do her masses of work), and the rest of us played pool and drank beer and danced to wonderful hits such as Run DMC � It�s Like That and DJ Otzi � Hey Baby. Okay it was just me dancing, but it was only because I was loving the Best Party Hits CD that they were evidently playing. Beer makes me kind�ve ridiculous.

Anyway, that�s enough of the domestic troubles. I have one exam left, the wonderful BMS301 Membrane Receptors. A portion of my brain is insistent that I just not bother revising that well for it, because it�s my last exam and everyone else is finished and it�s boring. I�m ignoring this part of my brain, as I�m determined to do well in it. This motivation will probably be gone in about an hour, but at the time of writing this I mean it. I�m bringing Membrane Receptors home, for today at least.

And now, y�all, I�m going to finish this entry on a serious note. Prepare yourselves.

I had a very strangely timed heart-to-heart with Becky last night about relationships. I thought I only got like that when I was drunk, but clearly not. She was talking about James � her ex who she couldn�t be with due to the religion thing, and who she misses an incredible amount as he was her best friend. I talked about Paddy, obviously, and how we should be together and aren�t. Becky said that it�s so blatantly obvious how we feel about each other when we spend time together.

I know he�s not conventionally handsome or anything, but I really don�t care; I find him gorgeous. He�s the closest male friend that I�ve ever had; one of the sweetest and loveliest people in the whole world. Sometimes I think he�s maybe right about us not getting together because he wouldn�t want to risk the friendship� I couldn�t imagine not being able to see him almost every day, or ever again. Any time I spend with him is always good time. He always makes me laugh� he always makes everyday things seem brighter, livelier; always makes me appreciate living just that little bit more. I can�t explain it any better than that. I remember in first year, getting ready for the Sorby ball and him arriving at my room and saying, �Wow, look at you. You look gorgeous�. No one�s ever said that to me before. It meant the world. I don�t know if him and me will actually go for it, but I do know that when he finds someone else I will be completely devastated.

Think I was hormonal last night or something; it�s the only explanation for the outpouring of mush. Today I�m very much, �Yeah we�re not together, nay mind. I have an exam to revise for and he�s not going anywhere soon�. Bringing things back to a mundane level, I�m considering eating a packet of Refreshers for my breakfast, as all I have on my shelf at the moment is about 50 decaf teabags and the ends of a loaf of bread. Food shop is possibly in order.

last - next