buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Big rant on religion
13.10.05, 3:57 pm

Okay, I'm due a rant. It has nothing to do with the fact that my mood has slipped back to its previous miserable state either, or that I'm kind've bored and have a really bad headache. No no no, this rant is overdue.

Disclaimer: If any of you are serious Christians then I mean no offfence with the following rant. I have nothing against Christianity in general, and admire your faith.

To recap: Becky, who is the serious semi-evangelical Christian, has a boyfriend, James, who is not a Christian. Becky needs him to be a Christian, as it's against her beliefs to be with a non-believer. James has no interest in religion. Problem.

So, Becky has told him that she needs him to go to one of these scary Alpha courses, otherwise the relationship cannot continue. Well, James doesn't really want to go, though he's said a few times that he will, but who can blame him. Those courses are notorious for their brainwashing, manipulation and general scariness. He is the nicest guy you could ever meet, and has tried so hard with Becky, but she won't compromise.

Last night they had a big angsty talk, which apparently resulted in him agreeing to definately go to the Alpha next Wednesday. If he hates it then the relationship is over. If he feels any other gradient, well then god knows. They appear to be in exactly the same position they were in before the big talk.

After he left, Becky sat and said, "What has James givenme?". When Mel replied: "A lot! What have you given James?", Becky replied with, "I can give him Christianity". Fucking GAH! My god, does she even know what she sounds like.

This whole situation is a complete load of bollocks. How can she think it's okay to keep changing her mind over whether the fact that James is religious is important or not. Or the fact that she's pressurising him to convert to Christianity. Or how religion shouldn't be able believing because someone wants you to, or because it's a clause in a relationship.

Religion should be about you making a choice when you want to, not on the say so of someone else. It should be a personal decision, influenced by no one. Blatantly James isn't going to like the Alpha course, it's as scary as shit. Blatantly the relationship cannot work, because Becky is never going to compromise on her religion. I respect that her beliefs are that strong and all, but if they are then realise that it can't work, and that you can't force James to change. Plus, he's not exactly going to convert overnight. This kind of thing take a long time, it's gradual, not a crazy, swept-up-in-the-moment "I BELIEVE!".

It's making me start to dislike her. Plus evangelicals have always unnerved me, and she seems to becoming more evangelical as the days go on. Apparently she believes that our house are all going to hell, because we haven't accepted Jesus into our lives. It makes me wonder if she she hates gay people, and believes that women shouldn't become priests.

Seriously, if we have one more bloody God conversation in this house I'm going to go insane. I hate this whole manipulation thing she has going on. Doesn't she see that by trying to sell her own faith it kind've cheapens it? At least, that's how it seems to me. Maybe I've got it all wrong, maybe I am going to hell, but at least I can say I didn't fuck someone around on the way there.

last - next