buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

An actual social event
3rd August 2005, 12:12 pm

I'm sat covered in crumbs from the scone thing I just bought from the canteen downstairs... I must look like a complete child. I shall now try and casually brush them off without anyone seeing, but thinking about it they'll just sit on the carpet for the rest of the day anyway, so everyone else in the office is going to notice at some point. Bugger.

I'm sure that the world will be ecstatic to learn that I actually partook in a social event last night. That's right! I went for a drink with some of the work kids to celebrate PhD Millhouse being offered a job after his PhD finishes. I have come to the conclusion that the vast majority of my work collegues are lovely, with the exception of Woman Who Always Ignores Me In The Corridor and Computer Voice. Computer Voice does actually have a voice that sounds just like a speaking computer, and I find him slightly intimidating. He also wears socks with sandels and tapered jeans, so I avoid contact with him whenever possible. Anyway, I got embarrassingly drunk on a small amount of beer, due to my drinking on an empty stomach, but much fun was had.

Had a dream of the geekiest proportions last night. I dreamt that a giant drosophila was attacking me (god, I can't believe I'm actually writing this sentence) and then got caught in my hair. It then started to try and fly away, and I freaked out, and then my sister tried to get it out whilst it started attacking me again. I decided to wake up at that point, because dreams about fruit flies are definately not something to be encouraged.

Paid the electricity bill today, woo! Made a hair appointment for Saturday up in Manc, woo! Forgot to put the bin out this morning, woo!

I've been downstairs in the lab for the past three hours working my arse off. If I label any more tubes (I've done about 150 so far today) I may actually kill somebody. I have even more work to do this afternoon, and just feel like going to bed.

I wonder if the things that I write about in here are actually vaguely interesting to anyone who's not me. I often wonder this, which possibly indicates that I have too much free thinking time on my hands. I will say though, whilst we're on the subject, that coming up to my desk with my lunch, sitting down at my computer and seeing that 3/4 of the people on my list had updated made me very happy indeed, and reading through all the updates whilst eating my lunch was very enjoyable too.

Time to play Spin In My Chair again.

3:43 pm
Walking from the lab to the lifts, I passed Netherlands Chick and Woman Who Always Ignores Me In The Corridor, who were going the other way. Netherlands Chick smiled and said hello, whereas WHAIMINC blatantly looked at the wall as she passed, whilst continuing her conversation with Netherlands Chick. Why is she so rude?? Does the mere sight of me offend her or something? Is it because I look so goddamn SEXY in my lab coat that's three sizes too big for me? Honestly, there is no need for this level of rudeness. I may be forced to slyly trip her up next time she walks past me, or flick pipette tips at her across the work bench. Or throw her lab coat out of the window and giggle uncontrollably as it floats down towards the the car park, like a big linen swan.

last - next