buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Now you know that the time has come
18.02.06, 12:13 pm

There�s currently a newly (Ebay) purchased Animals of Farthing Wood video sitting on my desk - �1.99 because I ROCK. I really want to watch it right not but can�t, because Becky�s currently out and she�d kill me if I watched it without her. Everything�s all fine until I open the case and notice the adverts for stuff like Postman Pat and Funnybones on the inside cover. I�m 21 very soon and I own Farthing Wood videos. It�s enough to make you cry.

Thursday morning we had some blokes round fitting weird furry spongey stuff to the doorframes, apparently for Fire Safety purposes. Stumpy Dwarfman (the handyman) also came with them for a while, so everyone sought refuge in my room because it�s on the top floor. I was hoping that it�d stop mine from slamming, but instead it now slams and makes a weird crackling noise as it does so. I also moved a load of mouldy mugs (has to be my worst habit) off my desk and washed them up. I was hoping a tidier desk would motivate me to work, but instead me and Becky watched Deal or No Deal and Becky kept going, �Awww bless� because Russel the contestant was all old and sweet. Becky thinks old people rock.

Man, I�ve just realised that I haven�t written in an age. Life seems to have become reat busy since I started back at lectures, and I�m spending a hell of lot of time with the housekids/course people. Guess we need to make the most of it, seeing as it�s the last semester, and soon finals will be upon us. Tell you what; seeing as it�s been so long I�ll do an academic roundup and a social roundup, but first I want to quote this note that John sent me � I�ve asked him since the dawn of time to buy me a fallabella if he wins the Lottery. This is evidently the appearance I give out of myself and my life and I love it:

�So, I win the Powerball drawing and hand deliver to you a wonderful brown and white fallabella. You, rather lazily, I think, name it Maria. You don't want to share with the other housekids, so you keep it hidden in your room when you can't sneak it outside. One evening one of the housemates suspects that there's fun being had without her in one of the rooms of the house. She happens down your hallway just as Maria whinnys. The house kid thinks that you're singing some new avant garde tune, but that your voise isn't as melodious as usual. She calls into you - "Holly, is there something wrong with your voice?" You respond, "no, it's just a little horse..." Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahaha. You've gotta love fallabella humour. Cheers. John

John � send me more fallabella jokes, I dare you.

Okay, firstly the social roundup. Nothing vaguely interesting springs to mind when I think back to Valentine�s Day, so we�ll just sack that day off. Wednesday night was spent downstairs with Mel and Becky on the sofas with duvets and chocolate and tea, as it was a big TV marathon of Brat Camp, Desperate Housewives and late-night Hollyoaks. My television taste is evidently just unbeatable. Thursday night was spent in the pub with most of the housekids, because we�re students and I hear that�s what we�re meant to do with our free time. Suzy and Laura were also there randomly � two of Lisa�s old housemates � and Suzy was very drunk and kept brushing her hand accidentally against my boob. Yeah� this lesbian thing I have going on is blatantly never going to go away ever. Friday lunchtime most of the kids met up in Subway, because we had a load of buy-one-get-one-free tram tickets for there. Cheap fun is the only kind of fun possible at the moment, because my financial situation is woeful. My sandwich was really quite good. After my tour guiding fandango I went for a drink with Paddy and B in Interval, and then Friday night was spent at the Union cinema watching The Brothers Grimm. I was so knacked by that day in general that once we got home at around tenish I went straight to bed.

Right then, now the academic thing. This is where the real news is. I�m going to forgo chronological order (rebel to the cause) and talk about my amazing Open Day tour first. I was given a sticky label with my name on to wear, and there was no damn free buffet left by the time I arrived at Firth Court. Nicola and I had to drag our group of 8 kids all around the Uni in the order that our sheet told us � they got shown some truly dull demonstrations up in the labs to do with Zebrafish eggs � and we decided to sack off going to the library at the end and instead took them to the Arts Tower and let them ride the paternoster over the top. That thing is worryingly fun. One of the lads fancied me � some guy with black emo hair � which I find quite an achievement as I a) got stupidly excited over Neighbours being on on the widescreen in Bar One as we went through it and b) spent the entire tour saying �Yeah, well in�. Oh and c) I had crazy windswept hair.

Now, the serious academic news. Dr Cho, the Chinese lecturer that�s currently giving us Alzheimer�s lectures (�If you come ask me: Dr Cho, if I take Neurofen I will reduce the risk of getting Alzheimer�s, my reply to you is: you are very stupid!�) said in his last lecture that he was looking for a research assistant starting in July. I emailed him saying that I was interested, and went for a meeting with him yesterday morning. To cut a long story short, there�s a chance that I might get a job, which is both very exciting and very scary. He said that I�m quite a strong candidate and I emailed him my CV this morning, so I�m hoping that I get an interview at least. This life stuff is really quite weird to think about � this job is apparently going to last initially for 6 months and then go on for another 8 years if all is well, which I find too long-term and scary to think much about.

Life is going much too quickly at the moment. I think the housekids and me are all subconsciously aware of this fact, and wish that we had another year of each other or something, hence all this togetherness time we've got going on. Anyway, today I have nothing planned as of yet, but will probably have to spend the day doing work. On a random side note, I�ve now bought a microphone so as to have international Skype conversations with Lisa and my sister. This can only have raised my geekdom status by a couple of levels.

last - next