buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

Two-for-one junkie
18th August 2005, 10:06 am

Don't worry, this entry shouldn't be half as depressing as some of the ones I've been writing recently. Although, I guess that nothing but annoyingly chirpy entries would probably make this journal feel a little superficial, and consequently make me seem a little superficial. Anyway.

I finally bought some food last night, so my fridge is semi-happy again. The guy serving me in Co-op reminded me that it was two-for-one on crisps, obviously noticing that my idea of "food shopping" equals me grabbing all the two-for-ones I can get my hands on, and then figuring out how they're going to combine to make meals once I get home. I haven't checked my bank balance in about a week, which is just fine by me.

Vicky is apparently in Sheffield, and has put some of her stuff in her room. This event took place whilst I was still at work though, and she was gone by the time I got back. I have no idea where she is now, probably at Aarons. She said she "might pop over tonight"... I get the feeling she's trying to avoid me slightly. I have no idea why, but I just find it a little odd that one of my housemates who I haven't seen in 10 weeks wouldn't want to stick around until I got home from work to say hello. I think I'm being a little paranoid though.

The woman on Look North informed me that it was A-level results day today. This only served to remind me of the TRAUMATIC day that constituted my results day, which ran as follows: went to Lindz's and wired myself up on too much coffee --> went to school and picked up envelope --> opened envelope, discovered that I'd not done that well, sympathy from friends ---> broke down on the phone to my dad (vowed never to do that again, although I have done once since, so definately never doing it again now) and wondered if I'd get through clearing --> went to see my head of 6th form, who rang Sheffield for me whilst I sat and watched him --> discovered I'd got in after all, restrained myself from hugging head of 6th form and went running out of his office and across the courtyard to scream at Lisa that I'd got in.

I don't really want to have a day like that again. Plus it was completely pointless, because once you get to uni no one gives a shit about which A-levels you got.

Lisa gave me an "I am nice" card last night, which made me smile. I went over to Dave's as planned and watched Lost, which wasn't as good as last week, mainly because it was all about big stupid-ass Kate, and I don't really care about her very much. Dave drove me home, which was nice of him, as around elevenish you get a lot of weird old men sitting on the steps outside the off licences near my house, who stare at me and make weird comments.

I'd better go and do some work, although I've already done a spin-down of my sequencing. I only have three and a half weeks left at this place, which feels insane. Oh, and Mini Boss, after talking to Dr Mole, had the brilliant suggestion yesterday of me writing a report on the lab work that I've been doing. Bollocks.

3:57 pm
Netherlands Chick has just brought me a cup of tea that has put me in a random good mood. I think I love her quite a lot.

Amy just sent me the following text:

Amy text: Is the diencephalon in the forebrain?
My text: No. Check your atlas.

I seriously worry about her passing these resits, seeing as she doesn't even know that the diencephalon is in the midbrain. Also, I'm not a sodding revision guide. I wouldn't mind if it was once every now and again, but around exam time I have to block her on MSN, because whenever I log on (damn you automatic log in) I get bombarded with questions about the latest module she's revising. Look it up, goddamnit, that's why we own textbooks.

Going home in about half an hour, as it's a sweltering 29 degrees C in this office. Sitting in here five days a week really makes you appreciate windows.

last - next