buffylass
navigation
current
archives
profile
extras
links
rings
cast
contact
email
gbook
notes
credit
host
design
friends
dangerspouse
skinny-bum
annie-cam
shot-of-tea
skinnypics
randomrabbit
kate-lee
the-moo
clairecav
theswordsman
frogeye
skinnylizzie
wombaby
stepfordtart
strawberrri
student-bum
onlyemma
lilkate
blujeans-uk

BBQ, rocks and football
10.06.06, 12:19 pm

I am having possibly the most fantastic week ever, bar the stupid hormones (currently AWOL, which is fine by me) and vague semi-worried thoughts about not having a job yet. Bumming around with the kids in the sun never gets boring, although this is officially the last day of being a student before my U-card expires and the last day we�ll all be together, so there�s the potential for much sadness tonight.

But enough about that, let�s get down to business. When I�ve gotten round to robbing all of Mel�s photos off her camera I�ll do a big photo entry (because you know you never get sick of seeing my face in various different environmental settings), but for now you get the text version of the last couple of days. I�m sorry it�s so long, but you know how I love to talk. About myself. All the time.

Thursday morning I went down to town with Mel and finally got my hair cut, and thank God I did because it looks so much better now, and I�ve also finally gotten enough of a suntan to cover up the MI chalkiness. Thursday afternoon was then spent having a house barbeque on the bit of grass across the road from our house, with Michelle as Master Barbequer. God, all the weirdos on the street seemed to come out as soon as we set up shop. One guy came out his house and across the road to ask why people insist on burning food outside when they can just cook it inside � we were all very much ��yeah. Good one.� some random Spanish dude wandered over and lit a fag on our barbeque; some dick went past asking, �Got a spare sausage, love?� � I shouted back �Yeah, you wish, pal�; and then some manky old tramp staggered up the road (it�s a long road) talking to himself and shouting, �AhhHHHH, you FUCKERS� every now and again, stopped to have a piss up against a lamppost near our house, then paused to shout some abuse at us (we couldn�t hear what he was shouting so I can�t quote him exactly on how wonderful he thought our BBQ was) before going further up the road and having a swearing contest with a guy leaning out of his bedroom window. After ramming food down I had a game of Frisbee with some of the kids and succeeded in hitting three parked cars, because my mad Frisbee skillz are inferior to none. Finally, we went off to Fuzz Club that night at the Union, where it was so sweaty and gross the underneath of my hair was wet, and Hannah proceeded to have a huge domestic with Guy before crying all over him. Good times!

Friday was big road trip day, as me, Mel, Em, Michelle and Dave all headed off onto the M1. Em was driving and I was given the task of map-reader, so had to pretend I knew what I was doing. We firstly went to Bolton Abbey to have our lunch, which is a good hour and a half drive from Sheffield. As Em was driving it meant tapes of doom were present, and as were nearing the abbey we drove through the quaint village of Kgrehauigareng with all the windows down and bloody, bloody Let�s Talk About Sex booming. Lots of grannies out walking looked less than impressed. And then when we arrived we decided to cut the tape, as we didn�t want the ticket man to hear us playing Wannabe with Em joining in on the �rap� bit. Anyway, we sat by the river and had us a wee picnic and everything, and it was all sunny and pleasant. It was one of those �Life is so great sometimes and I�m actually really glad that I�m me� moments.

After eating way too many Pringles and fannying around by the river we continued the road trip to some random rocks in the middle of the North Yorkshire Moors that Em and Michelle have been banging on about for the last week. They�re called the Brimham Rocks, and required half an hour�s driving down tiny winding country roads � Em seemed to think she was back in legendary Driffield and consequently drove quite scarily. I thought about pointing out that we weren�t in Driff, and that therefore more than 20 people were bound to live in the area, but decided not to in case she put I�m Every Woman on again. We finally got there without dying and the rocks are basically a big playground for adults (�People are reminded that climbing requires skill� according to the sign - clearly they don't realise that my amazing Frisbee skills mean that I am an expert in all things skillfull), and although the MI decided that climbing was definitely off the menu after a while it was still much fun. Except I completely forgot about my annoying height phobia until I was standing on the edge of a huge rock looking down and suddenly got massive dizzy waves. I don�t mind heights at all but my body hates them. Michelle then moseyed over and said, �Huh, we�re actually really high up. If you fell off you�d probably die.� Thanks.

Finally got back to Shef about eight o�clock, and then finished off the day by going bowling � my smug announcement of �I�m actually quite good at bowling� a few entries back appears to be unfounded, as I was kind�ve rubbish. And I took my thumbnail off again. And Becky decided to hide my trainers in one of the bowling ball racks whilst my back was turned. But it was all good, although as soon as we got home I felt totally wrecked and had to go to bed. Today is going to be spent watching football and drinking beer (big up the England) � I�m actually meant to be heading down to Bar One around nowish with Em for the match, although she appears to be in the shower so I�m guessing we�re a bit behind schedule. The rest of the kids are going to join us there. I can�t believe this is our last day together.

last - next